Gordon Y. Billard Award

Gordon Y. Billard Award

Each Spring, MIT solicits nominations for the Gordon Y. Billard award, named in honor of Mr. Billard, a member of the Class of 1924. This individual award (not a team) is made annually to faculty, staff, or an MIT-affiliated individual, who has given “special service of outstanding merit performed for the Institute.” The nominee must have made an impact beyond normal job duties, and created important, lasting, and wide-ranging contributions to the MIT community. These efforts can be broad in scope (affecting many departments, units, or people), and/or significant in duration. Nominees should have sustained contributions for ten or more years to the Institute. Examples include serving as chair of a cross-departmental task force whose findings or actions moved MIT’s mission forward, or nurturing a new student program. Past recipients have typically shown a significant portfolio of service to MIT. Nominations may include input from multiple nominators, but must not exceed 6 pages in total.

If you have any questions about the Gordon Y. Billard Award, please contact us via email.

Gordon Y. Billard, an expert in finance and investing, was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1900. He prepared at the University of Cincinnati for two years before coming to MIT, where he earned an S.B. in business administration in 1924. He subsequently pursued additional education in business, finance, and law at New York University. Mr. Billard was a partner at J.R. Williston & Company of New York and worked as a statistician, analyst, and financial consultant for many years. Shortly before his death in 1983, he established the Gordon Y. Billard Fund in memory of his mother. The fund provides for the Gordon Y. Billard Award and endows several professorships at the Alfred P. Sloan School of Management.

Past Award Recipients


  • Not Awarded


  • Edward Moriarty, Edgerton Center
  • Emma Teng, Global Studies and Languages


  • Dennis Collins, Housing & Residential Services, DSL
  • Rick Danheiser, Chemistry
  • Kristala Prather, Chemical Engineering


  • Lawrence Gallagher, Opening Learning, Supporting Unit, MVP
  • Kimberly Bernard, CAPD


  • Mark DiVincenzo, Vice President and General Counsel
  • Professor Sheila Widnall, AeroAstro


  • Chris Terman, Senior Lecturer, EECS
  • Stu Schmill '86, Dean of Admissions and Student Financial Services, OVC


  • Gayle Gallagher, Institute Affairs
  • Ian Waitz, School of Engineering


  • Alyce Johnson, Human Resources
  • Jagruti Patel ‘97, Chancellor's Office
  • Prof. John Ochsendorf, Architecture/CEE


  • John P. Dunbar, Assistant to the Provost for Space Planning
  • Professor Adèle Naudé Santos, Architecture


  • Claude Canizares
  • Dorothy Mark
  • Roger Mark


  • Professor Suzanne Berger, Political Science
  • Daniel E. Hastings, Dean for Undergraduate Education


  • Professor J. Kim Vandiver, Dean for Undergraduate Research, Mechanical Engineering