Back to top
This award is presented to a student organization, living group, or dorm for their efforts to plan and implement an event or series of events that are well developed, organized, and advertised. Recipient’s events should have attracted individuals from across MIT and impacted student life at MIT in a considerable way.
This award honors up to two students in their first or second year at the Institution who show leadership promise. Recipients are students who have made exemplary contributions to a student organization, living group, department, lab, dorm, initiative, campaign, international project, or team and have helped that group and/or effort grow through their participation. This individual does not necessarily hold a leadership position and may be an undergraduate or graduate student.
In 2001, Patrick J. McGovern, Jr. ’59, working through the MIT Entrepreneurship Center, established the McGovern Entrepreneurship Award to be presented annually to an individual student or student team that has made a significant impact on the quality, visibility, and overall spirit of entrepreneurship education and support across the Institute. Any MIT student or student team is eligible for this Award that honors Mr. McGovern, an accomplished entrepreneur, life member of the MIT corporation, and major contributor to the Institute community.
Honoring Priscilla King Gray’s contributions to public service at MIT, the award recognizes graduate and undergraduate students who are exceptionally dedicated to community engagement and making a difference at MIT and beyond. Students recognized by this award demonstrate an outstanding personal dedication to social change, long-term and in-depth involvement in public service, and lead initiatives that strengthen our community. The award was established by the Undergraduate Association in collaboration with the Priscilla King Gray Public Service Center to recognize undergraduate students. In recent years, the Graduate Student Council joined as a co-sponsor to honor graduate students as well.
The Ronald E. McNair Scholarship, established in Dr. McNair’s honor by the Black Alumni/ae of MIT, recognizes a Black undergraduate who has demonstrated strong academic performance and who has made a considerable contribution to the minority community.
The Teaching with Digital Technology Awards are student-nominated awards for faculty & instructors who have effectively used digital technology to improve teaching and learning at MIT.
The Paul Gray Award for Public Service, honoring MIT’s 14th president, recognizes a member of the MIT faculty who exemplifies building “a better world” through his or her teaching, research, advising, and service.
The Stewart Awards are presented in memory of William L. Stewart, Jr., an alumnus and member of the Corporation who demonstrated deep interest in student life at MIT. The Stewart Awards recognize outstanding contributions by an individual student or student organization to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year.