Priscilla King Gray Awards for Public Service

Priscilla King Gray Awards for Public Service

Recognize students who are building a better world. Honoring Priscilla King Gray’s contributions to public service at MIT, the award recognizes graduate and undergraduate students who are exceptionally dedicated to community engagement and making positive social and environmental changes at MIT and beyond. Students recognized by this award demonstrate an outstanding personal dedication to social change, long-term and in-depth involvement in public service, and lead initiatives that strengthen our community. The award was established by the Undergraduate Association in collaboration with the Priscilla King Gray Public Service Center to recognize undergraduate students. In recent years, the Graduate Student Council joined as a co-sponsor to honor graduate students as well.

Note: Self-nominations will not be considered. For questions about the Priscilla King Gray Awards for Public Service please email us at

Priscilla King Gray
Priscilla King Gray, wife of former President Paul E. Gray, has been a highly active and dedicated presence at the Institute. While serving from 1980 to 1990 as MIT’s First Lady, she entertained an estimated 80,000 guests at the President’s house and initiated the popular and successful Senior Dinner. Her rich contributions to Institute life, however, both precede and postdate her period as First Lady. She helped develop the Freshman Advising System, was involved in the Technology Children’s Center, served on the MIT Medical Advisory Board, worked with the MIT Women’s League, and taught crewel embroidery. She was a founding co-chair of the Public Service Center Steering Committee.

Past Award Recipients


  • Cecilé Sadler G
  • Kelsey Merrill G
  • Wilhem Hector '24


  • Martin Nisser G
  • David Spicer '23


  • Marisa Gaetz G
  • Danielle Grey-Stewart '21


  • Seamus Lombardo G
  • Kiara Wahnschafft '20


  • Sarah Tress '19
  • Lisa Volpatti G


  • Yazmin Guzman '18
  • Helena Ma '19


  • Aditi Mehta G
  • Vaishnavi Rao ‘17


  • Paula Ruiz Castillo G
  • Shivangi Goel '17
  • Emily Keeley '17


  • Shilpa Agrawal '15
  • Sofia Essayan-Perez '15
  • Stacey Allen G
  • William Li G


  • Jean-Philippe Coutu G
  • Sherry Fu ‘14


  • Camila Caballero ‘13


  • Noam Angrist ’13
  • Hamsika Chandrasekar ’13
  • Stephanie Lin '12
  • Sravanthi Puranam '13