Larry G. Benedict Leadership Award

Larry G. Benedict Leadership Award

Named for MIT’s first Dean of Student Life, who served from 2000-2007, this award honors two students, one undergraduate and one graduate, who have shown dedication to empowering their fellow students to develop as leaders. Recipients are active mentors and coaches to their peers within the MIT community.

If you have any questions about the Compton Prizes please contact us via email.

Larry G. Benedict was the Institute’s first dean for student life. Benedict drew fresh attention to improving the student experience, resulting in the construction and renovation of several dormitories and the expansion of residential dining among other initiatives. Prior to his arrival at MIT, Benedict served as dean for student affairs at Johns Hopkins University.

Past Award Recipients


  • Meagan Jens '23


  • Rebecca Black, Biological Engineering


  • Emily Caragay '22
  • Julia Wilcots G


  • Liam Fenlon '20
  • Yi "Jenny" Wang G


  • Evan Tey '19
  • Christine Chen G


  • Malte Ahrens '18
  • Sahar Hashmi G


  • Eduardo Maury G
  • William Moses ‘17


  • Eric Mannes '16