James N. Murphy Award

James N. Murphy Award

The James N. Murphy Award was established in 1967 in memory of James N. Murphy for his immeasurable contribution to community life at the Institute. It is given to a non-faculty employee whose spirit and loyalty exemplify this kind of inspired and dedicated service, especially with regard to students. Sustained contribution is a criterion for the award, but longevity, in itself, is not.

If you have any questions about the James N. Murphy Award please contact us via email.

During the 37 years he worked at MIT, James N. Murphy represented the highest standard of service and devotion to the Institute. As the first manager of Kresge Auditorium and the MIT Chapel, he helped develop the policies that make these historic buildings invaluable community facilities. Murphy also took on the added responsibility of managing the MIT Religious Counselors’ House and the Non-Resident Student Association House. In 1966, Mr. Murphy and three MIT students died tragically in an automobile accident while traveling to a national convention of the Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity, for which Murphy was the faculty advisor.

Past Award Recipients


  • Not Awarded


  • Mohamed Abdelhafez, Physics


  • David Elwell, International Students Office


  • Mirabella Pulido, Research Laboratory of Electronics


  • Kevin McLellan, MIT Program in Art, Culture, and Technology
  • Brian Callahan, Athletic Facilities & Operations


  • Kyle Keane, DSME


  • Heather Barry, Nuclear Science and Engineering


  • Ken Stone ’72, MIT Hobby Shop
  • Dr. Robert M. Randolph, Chaplain to the Institute


  • Nancy Savioli, Physics


  • Donna Friedman, UAAP


  • Michael Grenier, Residential Life & Dining
  • June Milligan, CopyTech


  • Robert Ferrara '67, Senior Director, DSL