Howard W. Johnson Award

Howard W. Johnson Award

The Howard W. Johnson Award is presented annually to the male senior athlete of the year.

Please note: the nomination process for the Howard W. Johnson Award is managed internally within the Department of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation (DAPER). If you have any questions about the Howard W. Johnson Award please contact us via email.
Click here for more information about this award.

Howard W. Johnson, president of MIT from 1966 to 1971, was born in Chicago in 1922 and earned an A.B. in economics at Central College in Chicago in 1943 and an M.A. in economics in 1947. He taught at the University of Chicago until 1955, when he came to MIT as an associate professor of industrial management and director of the Sloan Fellowship Program. From 1958 to 1959, he served as associate dean of the Sloan School of Management and was dean from 1959 until 1966. He became chairman of the MIT Corporation in 1971. Mr. Johnson believed that university athletics are a necessary counterpoise to rigorous academic requirements. The MIT Athletics Center was named for him in 1988.

Past Award Recipients


  • Ryan Gebhardt '22


  • Not Awarded


  • Bouke Edskes '20


  • AJ Jurko '19


  • Ty Ingram '18


  • Harris Stolzenberg '17


  • Sean Bingham ‘16


  • Justin Wallace ‘15


  • Michael Liao ‘14


  • Wyatt Ubellacker ‘13


  • Columbus Leonard ’12