Back to top

Harold J. Pettegrove Award

Harold J. Pettegrove Award

The Harold J. Pettegrove Award is presented in recognition of outstanding service to intramural athletics.

If you have any questions about the Harold J. Pettegrove Award please contact via email.

Submit a nomination

Past Winners


  • Ahaan Rungta '19


  • Matthew Nicolai '18


  • Lee Weinstein G


  • Alex Dalzell ‘16


  • Jenna Klein ‘15


  • Greg Kavit ‘15


  • Leah Alpert ‘13


  • Quantum Wei ’15

Harold James Pettegrove was a member of the MIT Class of 1970, but died in 1969 before finishing his degree in metallurgy. The Harold J. Pettegrove Award symbolizes MIT’s ongoing interest in the ideals represented by intramural sports in an academic community. The intramural program at the Institute embraces dozens of sports and thousands of athletes at all levels of competition. The fact that a balanced and rigorous athletics program flourishes at the nation’s leading technological university is an expression of MIT’s commitment to the philosophy best expressed by President Stratton during the period of Mr. Pettegrove’s attendance: “Society asks more than sheer intellectual ability — it demands also moral hardiness, self-discipline, a competitive spirit, and other qualities that in more old-fashioned terms we might simply call character.”


Subscribe to RSS - Harold J. Pettegrove Award