Back to top

Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize

Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize

The Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize in the Visual Arts is presented annually by Arts at MIT to three MIT students who demonstrate excellence in creating a body of work in the visual arts. To learn more about the Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize or to apply, visit the Arts at MIT website.

First Prize: $5,000, Second Prize: $3,000, Third Prize: $2,000, Honorable Mention: $1,000

If you have any questions about the Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize please contact via email.

Past Winners


  • Andrea Ling G


  • First Prize: Ani Liu G


  • First Prize: Joshua Jest G


  • First Prize: Jenna Klein ‘15


  • First Prize: Anne Macmillian G


  • First Prize: Jie Qi G


  • First Prize: Matthew Everett Lawson G

The complete lists of past winners.


Harold and Arlene Schnitzer have had long and distinguished careers in business, in community service, and as patrons of and advocates for the arts. Mr. Schnitzer earned an S.B. in metallurgy at MIT in 1944 and joined his family business in Oregon for several years following military service. He married the former Arlene Director in 1949, and in 1951 founded Hirsch Investment Corporation, a real estate development firm with headquarters in Portland, Oregon. The Schnitzers and their son Jordan have at various times held executive positions at Hirsch. In 1962, Mrs. Schnitzer started and managed Portland’s Fountain Gallery of Art, which came to be one of the leading galleries in the Pacific Northwest. Mr. and Mrs. Schnitzer have both served on numerous charitable and arts-related committees and boards.


Subscribe to RSS - Harold and Arlene Schnitzer Prize