Back to top


William L. Stewart, Jr. Award

The Stewart Awards are presented in memory of William L. Stewart, Jr., an alumnus and member of the Corporation who demonstrated deep interest in student life at MIT. The Stewart Awards recognize outstanding contributions by an individual student or student organization to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year.

If you have any questions about the William L. Stewart, Jr. Award please contact via email.

Submit a nomination

Past Winners


  • Sahar Dar G


  • Katia Shtyrkova G
  • Eric Mannes ’16
  • Kath Xu ’16
  • Richard Watts ‘18


  • Hal Anil '15
  • Phoebe Whitwell '15
  • Shreya Dave G


  • Egypt Student Association
  • Anne Cai ‘14


  • Ruth Byers'13
  • Joy Ekuta '13
  • Matthew Haberland G
  • Joanna S. Kao ‘13


  • Ethan Solomon '12



William Lyman Stewart, Jr. first came to MIT as an undergraduate in 1919. He earned an S.B. in business and engineering administration in 1923. After graduation, he joined the Union Oil Company of California, to which he devoted his energies throughout his entire career. Long active in MIT affairs, he served as an alumni term member of the MIT Corporation from 1952 to 1956, and as a life member until his death. As a member of the Corporation, Mr. Stewart served on a number of standing and visiting committees including development, naval architecture, industrial management, humanities, mathematics, sponsored research, and student affairs.

Goodwin Medal

The Goodwin Medal is presented to a graduate student whose performance of teaching duties is “conspicuously effective over and above ordinary excellence.” The award will be presented to a graduate student teacher who has established a place of distinction in teaching in the opinion of his or her colleagues, students, and faculty. The nominee should be a current graduate student who is primarily at MIT (if involved in a joint program with another university). Co-teachers may be nominated jointly, but the specific contributions of each individual must be detailed. This award was established in memory of Henry Manley Goodwin, the first Dean of the Graduate School of MIT.

To nominate, visit the Office of Graduate Education website.

If you have any questions about the Goodwin Medal, please contact Scott Tirrell, OGE Manager of Graduate Fellowships:

Past Winners


  • Cauam Ferreira Cardoso G


    • Was not awarded


    • George Chen G
    • Ramesh Sridharan G


    • Joseph Steinmeyer G, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    • Tony S. Tao G, Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics


    • Adrian Chi-Yan Liu, Department of Physics


    • Taylor Barton, School Of Engineering



    Harry Manley Goodwin (1870–1949) first came to MIT in 1886, earning an S.B. in 1890. Professor Goodwin served at MIT for more than 50 years. He began as an assistant in physics in 1890 and advanced to professor in 1906, teaching physics and electrochemistry. In 1906, he established and headed the first undergraduate course in the U.S. leading to a degree in electrochemistry. He also served as director of the Research Laboratory of Electrochemistry (1930–1933); secretary of MIT’s Society of Arts (1922–1940); and chairman of the faculty, (1939–1940). He was the first dean of graduate students (1926-1932), and dean of the newly established graduate school from 1932 until his retirement in 1940. He retired with the title professor emeritus and was appointed honorary dean of the graduate school.



    Subscribe to RSS - Students