Back to top

Civil and Environmental Engineering

CEE Leadership and Community Award Recognizes an undergraduate student, at any level, who has made exemplary contributions to improve the CEE community, fostered excellence, diversity, and contributed to our culture of inclusiveness

  • Michelle Dutt '15,
    Gurnee, IL
  • Majdolene Khweis '15,
    Taos, NM

CEE Best Undergraduate Research Award Honors excellence in research of a CEE undergraduate student, in any area of research. The research may have been carried out in the context of a UROP, internship, or coursework such as the Capstone or TREX

  • Dimitrios Pagonakis '15,

Juan Hermosilla (1957) Prize Awarded to a student in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, to recognize exceptional talent and potential for future contributions at the intersection of mechanics, materials, structures and design

  • Noor Khouri '15,
    Abu Dhabi

The Leo (Class of 1924) and Mary Grossman Award Honors Mr. Grossman who had a professional career in highway design and planning and is given to an undergraduate student with a strong interest in transportation and a strong academic record

  • Xiao Yun (Jayne) Chung '15,
    Alhambra, CA

The Paul L. Busch (1958) Prize awarded to an undergraduate student in Environmental Science and Engineering for academic achievement and contributions to the CEE community

  • Samantha Hartzell '15,
    Hudson, WI

The Tucker-Voss Award established in memory of Professor Ross F. Tucker and Professor Walter C. Voss, who were the first two heads of the Department of Building Construction, Course 17. In the 1950s, Course 17 merged with the Department of Civil Engineering and the first Tucker-Voss Award was presented. This award is given annually to an undergraduate or graduate student who shows particular promise in the field of building.

  • Anthony McHugh '16,
    Indianapolis, IN

The Trond Kaalstad (Class of 1957) Fellowship recognizes an outstanding graduate student who has displayed leadership and/or contributed significantly to the well-being of the CEE

  • Fatima Hussain G
  • Julia Hopkins G

Maseeh Annual Award for Excellence as a Teaching Assistant recognizes the most outstanding teaching assistant in the past academic year. (This award is made possible by the generosity of CEE Alum Fariborz Maseeh Sc.D. '90).

  • Mohammad Javad Abdolhosseini Qomi G

CEE Best Doctoral Thesis Award honors scholarly and academic excellence and a high level of distinction of a CEE graduate student, in any area of research.

  • James Hunter G

CEE Postdoctoral Scholar Mentoring, Teaching and Excellence Award recognizes mentoring, teaching and other exceptional contributions by a Postdoctoral Associate or Postdoctoral Fellow, emphasizing high potential for future contributions

  • Bruce Jones G

Maseeh Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes the most outstanding faculty instructor in the past academic year. (This award is made possible by the generosity of CEE Alum Fariborz Maseeh Sc.D. '90.)

  • Jesse Kroll,
    Associate Professor

Distinguished Service and Leadership Award recognizes outstanding departmental service and leadership contributions of a member of the CEE faculty, to acknowledge colleagues who foster a culture of diversity, inclusiveness, and innovation, to further the department mission and vision and MIT as a whole

  • Daniele Veneziano,

CEE Excellence Award recognizes a member of the CEE staff for excellent contributions to our community, commitment to professionalism, dedication and best practices, as well as fostering a culture of diversity, inclusiveness, and innovation

  • Jim Long,
    Senior Administrative Assistant
  • Kiley Clapper,
    Academic Administrator

2015 Samuel M. Seegal Prize given to a professor who "inspires students in pursuing and achieving excellence."

  • Jerome (Jerry) J. Connor,