Back to top



Jon A. Bucsela Prize Winner Dennis Tseng
Photo by Dennis Porche

MIT’s First-Place Putnam Team Members Zipei Nie and Benjamin Gunby. (Mitchell Lee is not present.)
Photo by Dennis Porche


Click here to view more photos.

Jon A. Bucsela Prize in MathematicsFor distinguished scholastic achievement, professional promise, and enthusiasm for mathematics
  • Dennis Tseng '14,
    Mason, OH

Alice T. Schafer Prize, honorable mentionFor excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman in mathematics, given by the Association for Women in Mathematics

  • Jessie Zhang '15,

Barry Goldwater ScholarshipFor students intending to pursue research careers in mathematics, science and engineering

  • Carl Lian '15,
    Lexington, MA
  • Daniel Kang '15,
    Fairfax, VA

Marshall ScholarshipTo support American students to study in the U.K.

  • Kirin Sinha '14,
    Denver, CO
Rhodes ScholarshipSelected for American students to pursue a degree at Oxford University
  • John Mikhael '13,
    Dallas, TX

Charles and Holly Housman Award for Excellence in Teaching, supported by the Charles L. and Holly Housman FundPresented to graduate student(s) in mathematics for their skill and dedication in undergraduate teaching

  • Michael Donovan G
  • Jennifer Park G

Charles W. and Jennifer C. Johnson Prize, established by the support of Charles (BE '55) and Jennifer JohnsonGiven to graduate student(s) in mathematics for an outstanding paper accepted for publication in a major journal

  • Kestutis Cesnavicius G
  • Ailsa Keating G

William Lowell Putnam Mathematical CompetitionThe MIT Putnam Team placed first, with 15 MIT participants ranking in the top 25. Of the 81 students achieving Honorable Mention or higher, MIT had 35 (43%).


  • Benjamin Gunby '15,
    Potomac, MD
  • Mitchell Lee '16,
    Oakton, VA
  • Zipei Nie '15,
    Shanghai, China
Four MIT Participants ranked in top 5 test-takers ("Putnam Fellows")
  • Mitchell Lee '16,
    Oakton, VA
  • Zipei Nie '15,
    Shanghai, China
  • Bobby Shen '17
  • David Yang '17

The Hartley Rogers Jr. Family PrizeGiven to the top undergraduate-graduate team(s) in the 2013 Summer Program in Undergraduate Research:

  • Chenjie Fan G and Fan Zheng '14
  • Zipei Nie '15,
    Anthony Wang '14, and Ben Yang G

MIT MCM ChampionsHonored for the best paper submitted from MIT to the 2014 Mathematical Contest in Modeling, in which they ranked “Meritorious Winner”

  • Anne K. Kelley ’17,
    Chapel Hill, NC
  • Jason Y. Liang ’17,
    Raleigh, NC
  • Eric R. Wang ’17,
    Jamestown, NC