Back to top

School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

James A. and Ruth Levitan Prize in the HumanitiesTo support innovative and creative scholarship in the humanities
  • Shankar Raman,
    Professor of Literature

Research Fund, School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

  • Chris Capozolla,
    Associate Professor of History
  • Mike Cuthbert,
    Associate Professor of Music and Homer A. Burnell Career Development Professor
  • David Donaldson,
    Gary Loveman Career Development Assistant Professor of Economics
  • Jeff Ravel,
    Professor of History
  • Jay Scheib,
    Associate Professor of Theater Arts
  • Natasha Schüll,
    Associate Professor of Science, Technology, and Society
  • Hanna Rose Shell,
    Leo Marx Career Development Associate Professor of Science, Technology, and Society
  • Christopher Warshaw,
    Assistant Professor of Political Science
James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in TeachingRecognizes SHASS teachers—professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants—who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduates
  • David Autor,
    Associate Department Head and Professor of Economics
  • Tong Chen,
    Lecturer, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Dave Custer,
    Lecturer, Experimental Study Group and Writing Across the Curriculum
  • Isaac Gould,
    Teaching Assistant, Linguistics
  • Margarita Groeger,
    Director of Spanish Language, Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • Frederick Harris,
    Director of Wind and Jazz Ensembles, Music
  • Chappell Lawson,
    Associate Professor of Political Science at MIT, Director of the MIT International Science and Technology Initiatives (MISTI), and Secretary of the Faculty

Kelly Essay Award

  • Co-winners:
  • Michelle Dion '13
  • Alicia Singham Goodwin '14
  • Honorable Mention:
  • Caitlin Mackey '15
Kelly—Douglas Summer Travel FellowsTo support projects that enrich our understanding of one or more of the fields comprising the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at MIT
  • Sydney Beasley '14
  • Jakob Dahl '15
  • Brianna Jones '14
  • Andrei Klishin '15
  • Laura Stilwell '14
  • Sheila Zhi Xu '14
  • Yi Zhong '16