Back to top


Gene Brown Prize—For academic scholarship, and demonstrated excellence as a teaching assistant.

  • Abbey Diener ’18,
    Draper, UT

Susan Hockfield Prize in Life Sciences—For a third-year MIT undergraduate student in any area of the life sciences who has demonstrated both exceptional performance and promise for graduate study and research.

  • Meenakshi Chakraborty ’19,
    Lexington, MA

Ned Holt Prize—For demonstrated excellence in scholarship as well as service to the MIT community.

  • Kimia Ziadkhanpour ’18,
    Old Bethpage, NY

Salvador E. Luria Prize—For scholarship and research of publication quality.

  • Amanda Cao ’19,
    Chesterfield, MO

Merck prize—For outstanding research and academic performance in biophysical or bioinformatics sciences.

  • Chun-Ting Liu ’19,
    Taipei, Taiwan

Whitehead Prize—For outstanding promise for a career in biological research through academic scholarship as well as contributions to research and the MIT community.

  • Sarah Stern ’19,
    Irvine, CA

Undergraduate Symposium Speakers 2018—These students were nominated by faculty and selected to speak at the Undergraduate February in January 2018.

  • Mary Clare Beytagh ’18,
    Dallas, TX
  • Meenakshi Chakraborty '19,
    Lexington, MA
  • Alexandra Stanton ’18,
    West Hartford, CT
  • Celeste Dang ’18,
    Quincy, MA
  • Emily Damato ’18,
    Grand Rapids, MI
  • Kimberly Feng ’19,
    Andover, MA
  • Madeleine Kline ’20,
    Sudbury, MA
  • Stacie Lin ’19,
    Bedford, NH
  • Sarah Stern ’19,
    Irvine, CA

Goldwater Scholarship

  • Anna Sappington ’19,
    Riva, MD
  • Meenakshi Chakraborty ’19,
    Lexington, MA

Biology students nominated for Phi Beta Kappa 2017

  • Mohammed AlDajani ’18,
    Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
  • Erika Arias ’18,
    Oak Forest, IL
  • Mary Clare Beytagh ’18,
    Dallas, TX
  • Marjorie Buss ’18,
    Columbia, MD
  • Christina Dalzell ’18,
    Linwood, NJ
  • Jennifer Li ’18,
    Moraga, CA
  • Puwanat Sangkhapreecha ’18,
    Bangkok, Thailand
  • Claire Simpson ’18,
    St. Louis Park, MN
  • Brian Zhong ’18,
    San Ramon, CA
  • Kimia Ziadkhanpour ’18,
    Old Bethpage, NY

Course 5-7 Undergraduate Awards

Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award

  • Harrison Wang ’20,
    Hinsdale, IL

Outstanding Sophomore Achievement Award

  • Sherry Zhou ’20,
    Palo Alto, CA

ACS Analytical Chemistry Award

  • Min Woo Bae ’19,
    Goyang City, Gyeonggido, South Korea

Outstanding Research Award

  • Mercedes Ondik ’18,
    Lena, WI

Merck Index Award (for outstanding academic achievement)

  • Camilo Espinosa ’18,
    Barranquilla, Colombia