Back to top

School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

James A. and Ruth Levitan Award for Excellence in Teaching—Recognizes SHASS teachers (professors, lecturers, and graduate teaching assistants) who make a profound difference in the educational experience of MIT undergraduates.

  • Claire Conceison,
    Professor, Music and Theater Arts
  • Donca Steriade,
    Professor, Linguistics
  • William Cutter,
    Lecturer, Music and Theater Arts
  • Hee-Jeong Jeong,
    Lecturer, Global Studies and Languages
  • Maria Khotimsky,
    Lecturer, Global Studies and Languages
  • Jetson Leder-Luis,
    Teaching Assistant, Economics

James A. and Ruth Levitan Prize in the Humanities—To support innovative and creative scholarship in the humanities.

  • Vivek Bald,
    Associate Professor of Writing and Digital Media, Comparative Media Studies/Writing

Research Fund, School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

  • Ian Condry,
    Professor of Comparative Media Studies
  • David Deveau,
    Senior Lecturer in Music
  • Stephanie Frampton,
    Associate Professor of Literature
  • Malick Ghachem,
    Associate Professor of History
  • Wyn Kelly,
    Senior Lecturer in Literature
  • Evan Lieberman,
    Professor of Political Science
  • Clapperton Mavhunga,
    Associate Professor, Program in Science, Technology, and Society
  • Amy Moran Thomas,
    Assistant Professor of Anthropology
  • Elizabeth A. Wood,
    Professor of History

Kelly Essay Award

  • Paige Omura '17
  • Remi Mir '17

Kelly-Douglas Summer Travel FellowsTo support projects that enrich our understanding of one or more of the fields comprising the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at MIT.

  • IAP Session
  • Holly Haney '18
  • Teresa Hegarty '17
  • Jorlyn Le Garrec '17
  • Noa Machover '19
  • Olivier Midyy '17
  • Scott Perry '19
  • Robert Romero '17
  • Patrick Shin '19
  • Hyunjoon Song '17
  • Heather Soukup '17
  • Jessica Sun '18
  • Hannah Zlotnick '17

Summer Session

  • Elise Bickford '18
  • Christopher Cassidy '19
  • Clio Macrakis '18
  • Tom Brian '18

SHASS Infinite Mile Awards

  • Inclusion Award
  • Barbara Keller,

Unsung Hero Award

  • Luis "Cuco" Daglio,
    Music and Theater Arts

Unsung Hero Award

  • Ana Ludwig,
    Office of the Dean, MIT SHASS

Unsung Hero Team Award

  • Albert Wang and Daniel Irvine,
    Office of the Dean, MIT SHASS

2017 History Undergraduate Writing Prizes—Honoring excellence in historical research and writing, in honor of MIT historians John W. Dower, Pauline Maier, and Bruce Mazlish.

  • Winners to be announced June 2017