Back to top

School of Engineering

Henry Ford II Scholar Award
Presented to a senior engineering student who has maintained a cumulative average of 5.0 at the end of their seventh term and who has exceptional potential for leadership in the profession of engineering and in society.

  • Arinze C. Okeke '17,
    Hawthorne, CA

Capers and Marion McDonald Award for Excellence in Mentoring and Advising
Presented to a faculty member who has demonstrated a lasting commitment to personal and professional development.

  • Alexander H. Slocum,
    Pappalardo Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Barry Goldwater Scholarship
For a junior or senior who exhibits outstanding potential and intends to pursue a career in mathematics, the natural sciences, or those engineering disciplines that contribute significantly to the technological advances of the U.S.

  • Bryce Hwang '18,
    Pleasanton, CA
  • Hannah Diehl '18,
    Beverly Hills, MI

Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Lorna Gibson,
    Matoula Salapatas Professor in Materials Science and Engineering

Junior Bose Award

  • Amos Winter,
    Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching
Acknowledges the tradition of high-quality engineering education at MIT.

  • Ronald Scott Kemp,
    Norman C. Rasmussen Professor in Nuclear Science & Engineering
  • Anastasios Hart,
    Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Patrick Jaillet,
    Dugald C. Jackson Professor in Electrical Engineering
  • Nir Shavit,
    Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

School of Engineering Graduate Student Extraordinary Teaching and Mentoring Award
Established in 2006 to recognize an engineering graduate student who has demonstrated extraordinary teaching and mentoring as a teaching research assistant.

  • Mary Elizabeth Wagner G,
    Burr Ridge, IL

Samuel M. Seegal Faculty Prize
Presented to a faculty member in business or in civil engineering, who more than any other, inspired students in pursuing and achieving excellence.

  • John Ochsendorf,
    Class of 1942 Professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering and Architecture