Back to top


Jon A. Bucsela Prize Winner, Yibo Gao
2017 AMS-MAA-SIAM Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize Winner, and 2016 Putnam Team Member, David Yang

Jon A. Bucsela Prize in Mathematics—For distinguished scholastic achievement, professional promise, and enthusiasm for mathematics, by a mathematics major.

  • Yibo Gao '17,
    Beijing, P.R. China

Hertz Foundation Fellowship—In support of outstanding students with the freedom to innovate as part of their graduate studies.

  • Ofer Grossman '17,
    Ithaca, NY

The 2017 AMS-MAA-SIAM Frank and Brennie Morgan Prize—For outstanding research in mathematics by an undergraduate student.

  • David Yang '17,
    Corona, CA

The Charles and Holly Housman Award for Excellence in Teaching, supported by the Charles L. and Holly Housman Fund—Presented to graduate student(s) in mathematics for their skill and dedication in undergraduate teaching.

  • Gus Lonergan G,
    Tadcaster, North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
  • Jonasz Slomka G,
    Tarnow, Poland
  • Lucas Tambasco G,
    São Paulo, Brazil

The Charles W. and Jennifer C. Johnson Prize, established by the support of Charles (BE '55) and Jennifer Johnson—Given to a graduate student in mathematics for an outstanding paper accepted for publication in a major journal.

  • Sylvain Carpentier G,
    Lille, France

Honoree of the Graduate Women of Excellence Award, given by the MIT Office of Graduate Education, in recognition of graduate women who exemplify leadership and service contributions at the Institute, and outstanding accomplishment

  • Gweneth McKinley G,
    Altadena, CA

The Seventy-Seventh William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition—The MIT Putnam Team placed fourth, with 11 MIT participants ranking in the top 25. Of the 68 students achieving Honorable Mention, MIT had 21 (31%).

  • Team:
    • Bobby Shen '17,
      Sugar Land, TX
    • David Yang '17,
      Corona CA
    • Yunkun Zhou '19,
      Shenzhen, P.R. China

One MIT Participant ranked in top 5 test-takers ("Putnam Fellows")

  • Yunkun Zhou '19,
    Shenzhen, P.R. China

The Hartley Rogers Jr. Family Prize, given to the top undergraduate-graduate team(s) in the 2016 Summer Program in Undergraduate Research

  • Team:
    • Lingfu Zhang '17,
      Mianyang, P.R. China
    • Hong Wang G,
      Guilin, P.R. China