Back to top

Civil and Environmental Engineering

CEE Best Undergraduate Research Award—Honors excellence in research of a CEE undergraduate student, in any area of research. The research may have been carried out in the context of a UROP, internship, or coursework such as the Capstone Subject or TREX.

  • Elaine Cunha '17,
    Arcata, CA
  • Tess Hegarty '17,
    Brookfield, CT

CEE Leadership and Community Award—Recognizes an undergraduate student, at any level, who has made exemplary contributions to improve the CEE community, fostered excellence, diversity, and contributed to our culture of inclusiveness.

  • Jillian Dressler '18,
    Harrison, NY

Juan Hermosilla (1957) Prize—Awarded to a student in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering to recognize exceptional talent and potential for future contributions at the intersection of mechanics, materials, structures and design.

  • George Varnavides '17,
    Nicosia, Cyprus

The Leo (Class of 1924) and Mary Grossman Award—Honors Mr. Grossman, who had a professional career in highway design and planning, and his wife. The award is given to an undergraduate student with a strong interest in transportation and a strong academic record.

  • Mark Mockett '19,
    Seattle, WA

The Paul L. Busch (1958) Prize—Awarded to an undergraduate student in Environmental Science and Engineering for academic achievement and contributions to the CEE community.

  • Rebecca Sugrue '17,
    Gainesville, FL

The Tucker—Voss Award-Established in memory of Professor Ross F. Tucker and Professor Walter C. Voss, who were the first two heads of the Department of Building Construction, Course 17. In the 1950s, Course 17 merged with the Department of Civil Engineering, and the first Tucker-Voss Award was presented. This award is given annually to an undergraduate or graduate student who shows particular promise in the field of building construction.

  • Bryan Lilley '17,
    Edmond, OK

The Trond Kaalstad (Class of 1957) Fellowship—Recognizes an outstanding graduate student who has displayed leadership and/or contributed significantly to the well-being of the CEE community.

  • Qingjun (Judy) Yang G,
    Shanghai, China

Maseeh Annual Award for Excellence as a Teaching Assistant—Recognizes the most outstanding teaching assistant in the past academic year. (This award is made possible by the generosity of CEE Alum Fariborz Maseeh Sc.D. '90.)

  • Xiaojing (Ruby) Fu G,
    Changsha, China

CEE Best Doctoral Thesis Award—Honors scholarly and academic excellence and a high level of distinction of a CEE graduate student, in any area of research.

  • Dr. Anna Tarakanova G,
    Newton, MA

CEE Excellence Award—Recognizes a member of the CEE staff for excellent contributions to our community, commitment to professionalism, dedication and best practices, as well as fostering a culture of diversity, inclusiveness, and innovation.

  • Allison Dougherty,
    Communications Assistant
  • Jackie Foster,
    Administrative Assistant

CEE Postdoctoral Scholar Mentoring, Teaching and Excellence Award—Recognizes mentoring, teaching, and other exceptional contributions by a Postdoctoral Associate or Postdoctoral Fellow, emphasizing high potential for future contributions.

  • Dr. Stefan Thiele,
    Postdoctoral Fellow

Maseeh Excellence in Teaching Award—Recognizes the most outstanding faculty instructor in the past academic year. (This award is made possible by the generosity of CEE Alum Fariborz Maseeh Sc.D. '90.)

  • Pedro Reis,
    Gilbert W. Winslow Career Development Professor

CEE Distinguished Service and Leadership Award—Recognizes outstanding departmental service and leadership contributions of a member of the CEE faculty, to acknowledge colleagues who foster a culture of diversity, inclusiveness, and innovation, to further the department mission and vision and MIT as a whole.

  • Joseph Sussman,
    JR East Professor of Engineering

Samuel M. Seegal Prize (SoE)—alternates between CEE and the Sloan School of Management for inspiring students to pursue and achieve excellence. The next prize will be awarded by CEE in 2019.

  • John Ochsendorf,
    Class of 1942 Professor of Architecture, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Ole Madsen Mentoring Award—Honors faculty members in recognition of conspicuous contributions to mentoring and educating CEE students outside the classroom, and to inspire them to pursue a career in the field of civil and environmental engineering.

  • Jesse Kroll,
    Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Chemical Engineering