Back to top


Fan Wei is the Jon A. Bucsela Prize Winner and recipient of the Alice T. Schafer Prize for Excellence in Mathematics by a Undergraduate Woman.
Photo by Richard Stanley

MIT Putnam Honorees Group
Photo courtesy the Mathematics Department

Click here to view more photos.

Jon A. Bucsela Prize in MathematicsFor distinguished scholastic achievement, professional promise, and enthusiasm for mathematics
  • Fan Wei '12,
    Beijing, China

Alice T. Schafer PrizeFor excellence in mathematics by an undergraduate woman in mathematics, given by the Association for Women in Mathematics

  • Fan Wei '12,
    Beijing, China

Hertz FellowshipIn support of outstanding students with the freedom to innovate as part of their graduate studies

  • Jacob Steinhardt '12,
    Vienna, VA

Charles and Holly Housman Award for Excellence in Teaching, supported by the Charles L. and Holly Housman FundPresented to graduate student(s) in mathematics for their skill and dedication in undergraduate teaching

  • Sheel Ganatra G,
    Newark, DE
  • Hoeskuldur Halldorsson G, Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Alejandro Morales G,
    Bogota, Colombia
Charles W. and Jennifer C. Johnson Prize, established by the support of Charles (BE '55) and Jennifer JohnsonGiven to graduate student(s) in mathematics for an outstanding paper accepted for publication in a major journal
  • Steven Sam G,
    Upland, CA

The Seventy-Second William Lowell Putnam Mathematical CompetitionThe MIT Putnam Team placed fifth, with 29 MIT participants ranking in the top 81 (out of 4440 test-takers). MIT had 163 participants overall.


  • Vlad Firoiu '14,
    Westford, MA
  • Colin Sandon '12,
    Essex, VT
  • Jacob Steinhardt '12,
    Vienna, VA

Three MIT Participants ranked among the top 14 test-takers:

  • Benjamin Gunby '15,
    Potomac, MD
  • Brian Hamrick '14,
    Annandale, VA
  • Jon Schneider '13,
    Toronto, Canada

Winning Team of MIT's Internal Competition that competed in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM), given by the Corsortium for Mathematics and its Applications. The MIT Team also received Honorable Mention in the MCM Contest:


  • Joshua Alman '14,
    Toronto, Canada
  • Vlad Firoiu '14 Westford, MA
  • Damien Jiang '14,
    Raleigh, NC
Hartley Rogers Jr. Family PrizeGiven to the top undergraduate-graduate team(s) in the 2011 Summer Program in Undergraduate Research


  • Whan Ghang '13,
    Seoul, South Korea
  • John Ullman G,
    Granger, IN

School of Science Prize for Excellence in Graduate Teaching (2011)

  • Mark Behrens, Cecil and Ida B. Green Career Development Associate Professor of Mathematics

Robert E. Collins Distinguished ScholarGiven by the mathematics department to a faculty member “whose work reflects creative and innovative thinking”

  • Pavel Etingof, Professor

Edmund F. Kelly Research AwardGiven by the mathematics department every three years to a junior faculty member “in recognition of work that applies mathematical methods in a new area or that offers a fundamentally new perspective on a classical problem”

  • Jacob Fox, Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics