Back to top

Department of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation

Howard W. Johnson Award—Presented annually to the male senior athlete of the year

  • Toomas Sepp ‘11, New Egypt, NJ (Swimming and Diving)

Betsy Schumaker Woman Athlete of the Year Award—Presented annually for excellence in athletic competition by a female undergraduate

  • Karin Fisher ’11, Belvedere, CA (Track and Field)

Malcom G. Kispert Award—Presented annually to the male and female scholar/athletes of the year

  • Female: Lauren Hernley ’11, Elizabethtown, PA (Soccer/Swimming and Diving)
  • Male: Kyle Hannon ’13, Park Ridge, IL (Track and Field)

Pewter Bowl Award—Presented annually to the female senior who has shown the highest qualities of inspiration and leadership in contributing to women’s athletics

  • Hazel Briner ’11, Arlington, MA (Track and Field)

Admiral Edward L. Cochrane Award—Presented annually to a male senior who has shown the highest qualities of humility, leadership and inspiration in intercollegiate athletics

  • Eric Zuk ’11, Carlisle, MA (Basketball/Lacrosse)

Varsity Club Award—Given to the outstanding male and female freshmen athletes of the year

  • Female: Lauren Quisenberry ’14, Corpus Christi, TX (Tennis)
  • Male: Colby Dunn ’14, Weston, MA (Swimming and Diving)

Philip A. Trussell Prize—Given to a male and female undergraduate student-athlete who demonstrate skill, sportsmanship and levity

  • Female: Melissa Diskin ’11, Newport News, VA (Tennis)
  • Male: Will Tashman ’13, Atherton, CA (Basketball)

Harold J. Pettegrove Award—In recognition of outstanding service to intramural athletics

  • Michelle Nason ’11, Salem, OR