Back to top

Department of Athletics, Physical Education and Recreation

HOWARD W. JOHNSON AWARD—Presented annually to the male senior athlete of the year
  • Luke Cummings ‘10,
    Sturgeon, Bay, WI
    (Swimming and Diving)

BETSY SCHUMACHER WOMAN ATHLETE OF THE YEAR AWARD—Presented annually for excellence in athletic competition by a female undergraduate

  • Anna Kokensparger ‘13, Omaha, NE (Swimming and Diving)

MALCOM G. KISPERT AWARDS—Presented annually to the male and female scholar/athletes of the year

  • Male: Jeff Zhou ‘10,
    Buffalo, NY
    (Swimming and Diving)
  • Female: Alex May ‘10,
    Des Moines, IA

PEWTER BOWL AWARD—Presented annually to the female senior who has shown the highest qualities of inspiration and leadership in contributing to women’s athletics
  • Juls Andren ‘10,
    Eden Prairie, MN
    (Track and Field)

ADMIRAL EDWARD L. COCHRANE AWARD—Presented annually to a male senior who has shown the highest qualities of humility, leadership and inspiration in intercollegiate athletics

  • Garth Grove ‘10
    Jarrettsville, MD (Football/Lacrosse)
  • Rastislav Racz ‘10,
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    (Swimming and Diving)

VARSITY CLUB AWARD—Given to the outstanding male and female freshmen athletes of the year

  • Male: Matt Hohenberger ‘13,
    St. Louis, MO
  • Female: Anna Kokensparger ‘13,
    Omaha, NE
    (Swimming and Diving)

PHILIP A. TRUSSELL PRIZE—Given to a male and female undergraduate student-athlete who demonstrates skill, sportsmanship and levity
  • Male: Tim Lee ‘11,
    Natick, MA
  • Female: Jamie Simmons ‘12, Carlsbad, CA
    (Track and Field)

HAROLD J. PETTEGROVE AWARD—In recognition of outstanding service to intramural athletics

  • Heather McDonald ’11,
    Hanover Township, PA